Wednesday - October 24, 2018

2018 winners of the Global Ophthalmology Award Programme announced

  • Out of more than 100 submissions, 12 ophthalmology researchers and clinicians will receive awards of up to $50,000 to support their innovative research as part of the 2018 Global Ophthalmology Awards Programme
  • Jasmina Kapetanovic from the University of Oxford receives Fellowship Award

Bayer have announced the 12 ophthalmology researchers and clinicians who will receive awards of up to $50,000 to support their innovative research as part of the 2018 Global Ophthalmology Awards Programme (GOAP). The 12 winners were selected by an independent panel of international ophthalmology experts because of the quality and innovation of their research proposals and the potential of their work to impact future patient management. The recipients are based across eight different countries across the world, reflecting the truly global nature of this programme:


Fellowship Project Awards

  • Jasmina Kapetanovic, University of Oxford, UK
  • Huber Martins Vasconcelos Junior, Casey Eye Institute/OHSU, Portland, OR, US
  • Gerardo Ledesma-Gil, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, NY, US
  • Prerana Shah, Aravind Eye Hospital, India


Research Project Awards

  • Jeremy Lavine, Northwestern University, US
  • Tengku Ain Kamalden, University of Malaya, Malaysia
  • Gerald Liew, South West Retina, Australia
  • Susumu Sakimoto, Osaka University, Japan
  • Yu Wakatsuki, Nihon University Hospital, Japan
  • Shigeo Yoshida, Kurume University, Japan
  • Marcia Tartarella, CAVIVER Institute, Brazil
  • Rosa Fernandes, University of Coimbra, Portugal

This year, a record 122 applications were received for GOAP, the highest since the program began in 2012. From these proposals, submitted by both experts and future leaders around the world, the independent group of experts who serve as the Grants Review and Awards Committee selected 40 applicants to develop full proposals, from which the final 12 winners were selected.


Applications to GOAP are encouraged throughout the year. The next deadline for submission of Letters of Intent (LOI) is 1 February 2019. Please visit the GOAP website for more information:


“The Global Ophthalmology Awards Programme has supported high-quality research projects across a range of disciplines working in vision and eye health: from epidemiological linkage studies aimed at teasing out genetic associations of ocular disease, analysis of big data to guide management, clinical studies using new imaging modalities, to basic science research into the fundamental cellular processes of health and disease. The fellowship awards have supported young ophthalmologists further their training towards becoming the clinical scientist leaders of the future. I am proud and honoured to be involved in this programme.” Dr Jennifer Arnold, MBBS (hons), FRANZCO, GRAC Co-Chair.


Dr Jasmina Kapetanovic, NIHR Clinical Research Fellow and Fellow in Vitreo-Retinal Surgery
at the University of Oxford and Oxford Eye Hospital who is a recipient of a Fellowship Award said
“It is a privilege to receive this prestigious award with a fantastic opportunity to work on a research project to develop novel optogenetic treatments for blinding retinal disease. The clinical component of the fellowship will allow me to further expertise in the field of retinal genetics and specialised vitreo-retinal surgery, including gene therapy”.


About GOAP
The Global Ophthalmology Awards Programme (GOAP) is an initiative instituted by Bayer with the aim of funding research initiatives that advance the scientific understanding of retinal disease. Through research and training grants, the program enables ophthalmologists to develop skills and to support future thought leaders, ultimately leading to improved treatment outcomes and patient quality of life.


Since 2012, 665 applications have been received from 56 countries and Bayer has awarded 70 grants, totalling US$3.5 million, to support a range of innovative ophthalmology research projects.

Award categories
There are two types of award category: The Fellowship Award is a mentored award to facilitate the development of research and clinical expertise. This is awarded to applicants that have completed ophthalmology training and wish to work on a research project as part of their training to become a retinal specialist. The second award, the Research Award, is a 1-year award supporting clinical and/or basic research projects in the field of retinal ophthalmology, including diagnosis and assessment, surgery, quality of life, mechanisms of action, novel therapeutic approaches and disease pathology.


Judging process
In order to ensure that the review of applications and funding decisions are completely independent, Bayer has appointed a group of eminent healthcare professionals from the field of ophthalmology forming the Grants Review and Awards Committee (GRAC). This independent body oversees the application process, and their role is to review each application, ranking them based on merit, innovation and impact, and on the applicant’s clinical or scientific environment.
The GRAC is co-chaired by leading medical retinal specialists, Dr Jennifer Arnold (Australia) and Professor Quan Dong Nguyen (USA). The group also comprises other leading international ophthalmologists: Professor Francesco Bandello (Italy), Dr Patricia D’Amore (USA), Mr Phil Hykin (UK), Dr Peter Kertes (Canada), Dr William Li (USA), Professor Francine Behar-Cohen (France), Professor Masahito Ohji (Japan), Professor Calvin Pang (Hong Kong), Professor Daniel Pauleikhoff (Germany) and Dr Francisco Rodríguez (Colombia).


Tel: Bayer Press Office, 0118 206 3977